lisfarry.wordpress.com

i just don’t get it

It’s time for bed, just watching the end of the TV show, “Ruby”, on the style channel and i find myself getting annoyed.

Here’s what I don’t get, have never gotten. This most recent episode I have tivo’d has to do in aprt with this woman going to the GYN. The “lady doctor”. The gynie. Whatever.  And all the hesitancy and fear involved. And she is close to my age and hasn’t been for 10 years.

OK. This show in particular has to do with a morbidly obese woman and her struggles in the world and I totally get that my experiences are not hers and that being that overweight is fraught with negative medical establishment associations.

HOWEVER, many women express this same fear and concern and utter dread of the GYN office visit. I have never understood this. EVER. And I took MYSELF to Planned Parenthood at age **hhmmmmhhcfff** when I became sexually active and took care of myself. It’s part of being a woman. Duh. I mean, I can name few people who could say they ENJOY going to get an annual exam but c’mon!!!!!

I just cannot and can never understand how someone can be so freaked out by their own body that they wouldn’t go to get checked up. I mean, can you SEE your own cervix? Even with a mirror and months of dedicated bikram yoga practice, this is difficult. It’s a DOCTOR. It’s not some random person getting a cheap thrill looking up into your vagina. Unless their name is Gwen. But I digress.

3 Comments

  1. Yup, I’m with you there. It’s not something I enjoy, but it’s no different to me than getting my teeth cleaned or something like that. Then you have my sister who nearly has a panic attack from the anxiety that builds the few days before going. WTF? I just don’t get it either.

  2. I feel the same way about routine mammograms. Yes, they’re briefly uncomfortable. But what’s the big deal? A couple minutes and I’m outta there. Small price to pay for preventive care.

  3. Donna

    Oh yes, yet another example of our healthcare system at its finest. Education and preventative care at the forefront. Just goes to show how undereducated about healthcare issues society actually is. Maybe cuz her daddy raised her and talking about the health of her vajayjay was taboo??

Leave a Reply

